The Farewell and the Vow

This post (and blog) has been a long time coming.

Before I left home I was blessed to have friends and family gather together to bid me adieu in the most completely heartfelt and amazing manner. At my house, my mom held a going away party for me. Our house was soon filled with wafting smells of freshly made jerk chicken, roti, plantain and other amazing dishes. And soon enough, our house felt even more like a home as it was filled to extreme capacity with well wishers, blessings, happy tears, love and laughter. My heart was overwhelmed with happiness and gratitude.

Another day not long after, my friends from work came out to say farewell with shots and drinks and food all around. One friend had just gotten off of a plane and came to say goodbye. We laughed and hugged intensely and that night became one of the most blurry and yet one of the most memorable nights ever. My heart was overwhelmed with happiness and gratitude even more.

I firmly believe that the people I have come to know and call friends and family are the best group of people to grace this planet. I am forever grateful to you all for your kindness, support of my goals and dreams and above all else, for your constant love. It is one of the hardest things to do, when you decide to pick up and go, leaving friends and family behind. However it is your continuous positive comments and care that teach me to embrace and enjoy my life to the fullest and in doing so I can honour you best. I will not let the love you so freely gave to me go in vain. You laughed with me and cried with me, counselled me and fought for me, supported me and loved me. This time away isn’t just for me, it is for you special ones also.

I don’t want to get too emo here so the bottom line is this: To my friends and family, thank you so very much for EVERYTHING. Words aren’t enough but I hope my actions will be. This post is to let you know that I never stop thinking of you all, that I smile when those thoughts arise and that my heart remains overwhelmed with happiness and gratitude.

Oh, and I expect all of you to come visit lol.

Sincerely Always,

Angelique

Leave a Reply

